Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After discovering my husband had been having a blow out on Laithwaites I felt left out so went onto Fortnum & Mason online and had a splurge. I’ve never done this before and doubt I’ll ever do it again although we do tend to go overboard now that my husband isn’t always home for Christmas and New Year so I think we can be excused when he is? (pretty please!), what is going to be a very indulgent Christmas. F & M Christmas Crackers, Cognac butter, home-made Christmas pudding and cake. (not by me though!) is all I’m saying. I also bought my daughter an ant lolly, real ants and us some Thai Curry Crickets, I’ll keep you posted, just can’t resist when I’m on a roll. So now feeling guilty I had to get my feet back on “terra firma” ASAP. What better way I thought, than to trim the goats feet for the first time since they arrived? If I’d known quite how it would go I may have prepared more or just put it off longer, we’ll never know. Armed with foot rot shears, lead rope and “destructions” ( instructions to you out there in another more organised world) I made my way to the field shelter.

1. Tie the goat up on a short rope. 

That, I could do, as it turned out I had to do the rest from memory. During foot one I was so engrossed in the job in hand that I missed the munching noise going on in my left ear, as I finally looked up there was Nanny Ogg, also engrossed, in eating the destructions, I managed to rescue half. On to foot two with what was left of the piece of paper safely in my pocket, only it wasn’t, by the end of foot two when I needed to refer regarding what to do about the heels, Granny Weatherwax was finishing off the last corner, the crafty so and so had lifted it out of my pocket un-noticed. I had two choices, go to the house and find information online that I would have to memorise as the printer was on strike or soldier on blind ish. By foot four Granny had laid down, if anyone out there can tell me the knack for foot trimming when your goat lies down please do let me know. Well eight feet later there was no blood loss and no need to use the trusty “purple spray”, found in anyone’s First Aid when it comes to horses, goats & sheep. Next time, note to self, laminate destructions, that way I might have them for longer.

Got a bit carried away with the links this time around, but one never knows where your blog guests may want to go once they’ve read your blog!

